An Illustrated Tolkien Bibliography

Road Goes Ever On. 1968
Search the Site
 Advanced Search

Links to Bibliography Pages

The Bibliography

1955-1973 - The Later Years


The Adventures of Tom Bombadil

1963-1967 - Books & Periodicals

1963-1967 - Letters, Artwork & Miscellanea

Smith of Wootton Major

1968-1973 - Books & Periodicals

1968-1973 - Letters, Artwork & Miscellanea

Back to previous page Record Number: 55150
Road Goes Ever On. 1968The Road Goes Ever On
Words by J.R.R. Tolkien
Music by Donald Swann
1st Edition 1968
George Allen & Unwin
ISBN 0047840099 (from 1972)
Hardback in dustwrapper
Illustrated by J.R.R. Tolkien and Samuel Hanks Bryant
Hammond Page Ref.: pp.314-315

Includes music for seven poems by J.R.R. Tolkien: The Road Goes Ever On, Upon the Hearth the Fire is Red, In the Willow-meads of Tasarinan, In Western Lands, Namárië, I Sit Beside the Fire and Errantry.

Also includes translations of Namárië and A Elbereth Gilthoniel, together with commentary.

There were four impressions of this edition, all similar.

1st Impression 1968
2nd Impression 1969
3rd Impression 1972
4th Impression 1974

The Road Goes Ever On was first published in the United States by Houghton Mifflin in 1967.

If you are looking for new, secondhand or out-of-print books then AbeBooks UK may be able to help.
Alternatively, you can search and order through Thousands of booksellers - millions of books.
Text © Neil Holford and 2003-2022 --- Images and quoted text remain copyright of the respective publishers and authors
Winner of the Tolkien Society's Best Website Award